Is Honesty The Best Policy?

I decided to create a brutally honest dating profile to see what would happen. Some questions I had going into this were:

  1. Would strangers accept me the way I am — flaws and all?
  2. How would this profile compare to the previous ones I have set up?
  3. How might people react to the fact that I have a chronic illness?
  4. What would strangers focus on as “important” in getting to know me?

A way I could have made this experiment even better would have been to use photos of myself with absolutely no makeup (contrary to popular belief, men, I do wear some!) and gone into even more detail about myself. I suppose I could have written that I have a dating blog, but I wanted the responses to be genuine without people wondering whether they would be written about.

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 4.54.00 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 4.54.18 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-08-04 at 11.16.07 AM.png

 

Within 24 hours I got just over 100 messages, 576 visitors, and 796 profile “likes.” Thanks for that, OK Cupid.

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 2.46.28 PM.png

When I broke it down there were some people who clearly did not read my profile at all (I even compared some of these gentlemen with a friend who has the app and they sent her the exact same messages!), but for the most part people had sent messages crafted to directly address something I had mentioned in my profile.

I was surprised to find that nobody really got my reference from The Office (littledoglover), but I was shocked at how many people opened with a line about Pokémon, as they noticed the Ash Ketchum hat in my profile.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 12.59.00 PM

No, that’s not the point though!

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 1.17.27 PM.png

Sigh.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 12.58.18 PM.png

YES, you get it!

Some people asked me about my chronic illness, but it didn’t really seem to be a turnoff anyone who messaged me (Obviously there is no way for me to know how many people didn’t send me a message me because of it), even when I told them what it was called and how it affects my every day life. For the most part people skipped right over that and asked me questions about other things I had listed. Some enjoyed the pictures of my dog and I that were posted, others commented on the board games I liked or some of the goofy nerdier things I love.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 1.00.00 PM.png

Hahaha, I like it.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 1.01.30 PM.png

OK, this kid has me pegged.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 1.16.05 PM.png

Good question. Step 1, be the banker. Step 2, give yourself enough money to buy a bunch of hotels. Step 3, win.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 1.16.38 PM.png

This was my absolute favorite.

Honestly I think what guys liked most about this profile was how genuine it was. I don’t think I’d say I’m great at a big list of things, but I would say that I am always myself no matter what situation life puts me in. My dating profiles always have a strong reflection of my character, but it’s interesting that not many things change even when you throw in a little too much information.

Today’s lesson: If you decide to create a dating profile don’t try to be fancy, different, or stand out — just be your beautiful self and you will surely attract the right people.

4 thoughts on “Is Honesty The Best Policy?

  1. Dean says:

    I’ve never actually given dating sites a go myself but I always just presumed people put fiction before reality when describing themselves. It’s glad to know I was wrong! At least with you anyway.

    I know it’s hard to be honest about yourself sometimes, especially when you have to write it in front of your very own eyes! You put it all out though, kudos 👍🏻 I mean it’s better to have someone like you for what you are than for what you’re not. It’s was a great bio by the way, I can see why you got those stats haha. Good read 😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

